Congratulations to this year’s memorial scholarships and awards recipients in Media Study!

May 23rd 2017

Congratulations to all our students who received this year’s Media Study memorial scholarships and other awards! The recipients are:

Stanzi Vaubel (PhD), Rachel Doktor (MFA) – The First Year Review Awards
The First Year Review Awards, in the amount of $500 each, recognize outstanding performance in our PhD and MFA programs, based on presentations made at the first year review. Recipients are selected by popular vote of faculty in attendance.

Leonardo Aranda Brito (PhD) – DGS Award
The DGS Award, in the amount of $500, recognizes excellence across academic, teaching and professional activities of students in the first year of graduate study. Awards are made by the DGS based on first year review presentations, research statements, and annual reports submitted at the end of the first year of study.

Nathan Noworyta – Outstanding Senior Award
The Outstanding Senior Award is chosen based on merit, enthusiasm for their work, and chosen by the Media Study faculty. Nathan will be recognized at the graduation ceremony and presented with a medal and certificate by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Quinn Lachler, Waylon Wilson – Pierre McAloon Memorial Award
Established in memory of Pierre McAloon by his family and friends. Pierre was Media Study student who died shortly after the completion of his documentary film, Corridor. This memorial award recognizes Media Study students who demonstrate talent and vision through their art.

Katie Kostelny – The Gregory Capasso Award
This award was established in memory of Gregory Capasso who perished in the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 in December 1988. The award goes to a Media Study student who has made an outstanding individual effort in creative work in film, video, documentary, digital arts, or scholarship as demonstrated in either a sustained effort or in one exceptional work.

Chun Gee Hong – Levy King White Award
The Levy King White Award goes to one or more Media Study majors with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 who demonstrates excellence in the field.