Celebration of the 35th Anniversary of the Founding of Media Study

Apr 29th 2009

35th Anniversary image

[NOTE: The second weekend of this event, originally scheduled for May 8-9 at Hallwalls, has been postponed.]


Friday, May 1

  • 2:00 PM: Welcome

    Vibeke Sorensen, Professor and Chair, Department of Media Study
    Bruce D. McCombe, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, SUNY Distinguished Professor of Physics

    Memories of Administrators

    Moderator: Marguerite Dorrity
    Louisa Bertch Green
    Christine E. Downing

  • 3:30 PM Memories of Distinguished Early Visitors

    Moderator: Professor Brian Henderson
    Noël Carroll
    Vladimir Petric
    Robert Haller

  • 7:30 PM Screening of Media Works by Early Students, 1973-1983

    Selected by Professor Tony Conrad

Saturday, May 2

  • 10:00 AM Memories of Media Study Academics

    Moderator: Professor Peter Weibel
    Seth Feldman
    J. Ronald Green
    Scott Nygren
    Peter Lunenfeld

  • 2:00 PM Presentations by Student Artists

    Moderators: Woody Vasulka and Steina
    Andrej Zdravic
    Arnold Dreyblatt
    Henry Jesionka
    Robert O’Kane

  • 4:30 PM Memories of Teacher/Curators

    Moderator: John Minkowsky
    Alan Williams
    Bruce Jenkins
    Thom Andersen

  • 7:30 PM Memories of the Founding Faculty

    Moderator: Professor Vibeke Sorensen

    Video Tributes to the Departed

      Paul Sharits
      Hollis Frampton
      James Blue

    Woody Vasulka
    Brian Henderson
    Tony Conrad
    Peter Weibel
    Gerald O’Grady

    Complete biographies, lists of films, videos and other works, television interviews and bibliographies are published in Woody Vasulka and Peter Weibel, editors, BUFFALO HEADS – MEDIA STUDY, MEDIA PRACTICE, MEDIA PIONEERS, 1973-1990 (ZKM/Center for Arts and Media , Karlsruhe, Germany and The MIT Press, Cambridge, Massachusetts, 2008), 839 pages

  • 9:00 PM Reception for Founding Faculty

Sunday, May 3

  • 10:00 AM Memories of Graduates, Now Chairs

    Moderator: Dr. Gerald O’Grady
    Barry Keith Grant
    Peer Bode
    Vibeke Sorensen
    Anthony Bannon


Anthony Bannon is Director of the George Eastman House at Rochester, New York
Peer Bode is an independent maker and Chair at Alfred University
Marguerite Doritty was Assistant to the Chair, Department of Media Study
Christine Downing was an administrator at the Center for Media Study, the Coordinator of OVRMAC, and of the Ohio Council on Arts, and Vice President of the Boston Film and Video Foundation
Arnold Dreyblatt is an independent media maker from Germany
Seth Feldman is Director of the Robards Centre for Canadian Studies and a Professor in the Department of Film and Video at York University, and the author of books on Vertov, the documentary, etc.
J. Ronald Green is Professor, Department of Film Studies at Ohio State University, and the author of two books on Oscar Micheaux
Louisa Bertch Green worked at the Center for Media Study and is now an administrator at the Columbus Museum, Ohio
Robert Haller is Director of Collections and Special Projects at Anthology Film Archives in New York City, the former Director of Pittsburgh Filmmakers, and the author of many books on Jim Davis, Ed Emshwiller, Stan Brackhage, etc.
Henry Jesionka taught at Simon Fraser University, the Department of Media Study and is an independent filmmaker living in New York City
Peter Lunenfeld is Professor of Design/Media Arts at UCLA, and the author of three books on the digital arts
Jonas Mekas is a filmmaker, the founder of Anthology Film Archives and the former film critic for the Village Voice
Annette Michelson is Professor Emerita at the Graduate Department of Cinema Studies at New York University, and the Founding Editor of October
Scott Nygren is Professor of Film and Media Studies at the University of Florida, Gainesville and the author of a book on Japanese cinema
Robert O’Kane is an independent media maker and designer from Cologne, Germany – the designer of Media Frames at ZKM
Vladimir Petric is the Luce Professor of Film Studies at Harvard University and Founding Curator of the Harvard Film Archive
Vibeke Sorensen is an independent media maker and Chair of the Department of Media Study
Andrej Zdravic is an independent film and media maker from Slovenia

Thom Andersen is Professor of Film Criticism at the California Institute of the Arts, and an independent documentary filmmaker
Tony Conrad is Professor in the Department of Media Study
Berry Keith Grant is Professor of Film and Popular Culture at Brock University, St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada, and the author of books on documentary film
Brian Henderson is Professor in the Department of Media Study
Bruce Jenkins is Professor of Film and Dean of Undergraduate Studies at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and the editor of a recent collection of Hollis Frampton’s writings
John Minkowsky is an independent writer and the Founding Curator of Video, Electronic Arts and New Music at Media Study/Buffalo
Gerald O’Grady is the Founding Director of the Department of Media Study and an independent scholar
Steina is an independent video maker from Santa Fe, New Mexico, and a pioneer in video making
Woody Vasulka is a pioneer video maker, the Founder of the Kitchen and lives in Santa Fe
Peter Weibel is Director of the Zentrum fur Kunst und Medientechnologies in Karlsruhe, Germany, the author of many books, and an independent maker
Alan Williams is Professor of French and Film at Rutgers University and the author of books on French Cinema